Not all marriage licenses issued by the Douglas County Clerk/Comptroller’s office are available on-line. If you are not able to find your license, you can call us at 402-444-6080, or email us at [email protected], and we will check to make sure your license is on file in our office.
Are divorce records public in Nebraska?
Divorce records in Nebraska become public information after fifty years. Until this statutory period of confidentiality elapses, only eligible requesters may obtain divorce records in Nebraska, including the persons named on the record, immediate family members, and authorized legal representatives.
How do I get a certified copy of my divorce decree in Nebraska?
Apply Online To get a divorce certificate by mail, send a $16.00 check or money order made out to Vital Records (no credit cards) include the following information: Name of husband. Name of wife. City or county where divorce was granted.
How do I find out if someone is divorced in Nebraska?
Nebraska divorce records starting in 1904 are available by mail for a fee, with proper government-issued photo identification, from the Vital Records Office or the Clerk of the District Court in the county where the divorce was granted.
How do I look up court records in Nebraska?
Records come from the appellate court case management system, known as SCCALES, and require a subscriber account through Nebraska.gov. Searches can be performed using the appellate court case number, or the original trial court case number. Viewing the details of any case returned in a search is $1.
Can you remarry same person after divorce?
Is it possible to get divorced and remarry the same person in the future? Yes, you can get divorced and later remarry your ex. In fact, it’s even more common than you might think. In some ways, second marriages to the same person can be more fruitful than first marriages.
Are Nebraska court records public?
Consequently, qualified individuals can request and obtain Nebraska court records being public records, except they are not subject to public disclosure. Public records include all documents, irrespective of their physical forms, generated by government officials while performing their duties to the public.
How do I get a copy of my divorce decree in Douglas County Nebraska?
The Clerk of the District Court is the custodian of divorce records for Douglas County, NE. That office can be reached at (402) 444-7018 and their website is https://clerk.dc4dc.com/.
How do I find marriage records for free?
FamilySearch is a free website with indexes and some images to many Family History Library vital records collections. GenWed is a free genealogical research database for marriage records and a directory to other marriage records online for the United States.
How do I find marriage records?
You will need to contact the County Recorder’s Office in the county where the marriage license was issued.
How long after a divorce can you remarry in Nebraska?
According to Nebraska law, you cannot then marry anyone until at least six months and one day from the date the decree is signed by the judge and filed with the Clerk’s office. This law applies to Nebraska residents who want to remarry anyone anywhere in the world.
How long before a divorce is final in Nebraska?
In Nebraska, there is a 60-day waiting period after the dissolution is filed until the court will grant the dissolution. If there are children involved or if there is any dispute over property, the divorce will most likely take longer. The mandatory 60-day period is considered a “cooling off” period.
Does adultery affect divorce in Nebraska?
Nebraska allows only no-fault divorces: Courts will not consider any evidence of misconduct. Although all states provide a no-fault basis for divorce, many maintain fault-based grounds as well, such as physical or mental cruelty, desertion, substance abuse, and adultery.
How do I find someone’s court records?
There are three ways to look at court records: Go to the courthouse and ask to look at paper records. Go to the courthouse and look at electronic court records. If your court offers it, look at electronic records over the internet.
How do I look up charges in Nebraska?
CM/ECF (PACER) information, including signup information, is available on the PACER Service Center Web site located at http://pacer.psc.uscourts.gov, or by calling 800-676-6856.
How do you read a court case number?
Case types assigned by the Court include Civil (“cv”), Criminal (“cr”) and Miscellaneous (“mc”). The number 17 represents the year the case was filed. The number 00010 is the number of the case. The first case filed in a particular year for each division is “1,” and so on.
How many years do you have to be married to collect spouse Social Security?
What are the marriage requirements to receive Social Security spouse’s benefits? Generally, you must be married for one year before you can get spouse’s benefits. However, if you are the parent of your spouse’s child, the one-year rule does not apply.
Can ex wife claim my pension years after divorce?
The Legalese Behind a Pension in a Divorce In order to gain access to a percentage of your pension, your spouse would have to specifically ask for their share at the time of the divorce – not at the time of your retirement. This is done via a court order called a qualified domestic relations order (QDRO).
What is the 10 year marriage rule for Social Security?
To be eligible, you must have been married to your ex-spouse for 10 years or more. If you have since remarried, you can’t collect benefits on your former spouse’s record unless your later marriage ended by annulment, divorce, or death.
What type of cases are heard in Nebraska district courts?
The district courts are Nebraska’s general jurisdiction trial courts. This means that with a few exceptions, civil and criminal cases of all types may be commenced in and tried by the district courts.
Are police reports public record in Nebraska?
These reports are subject to public information under Nebraska statutes and the Sheriff’s Office is providing them as a convenience to the public.
How do I get a copy of my marriage license in Omaha NE?
Go to the Douglas County Clerk’s Office located in Room H08 on the Harney Level of the Omaha-Douglas Civic Center, 1819 Farnam Street, Omaha, NE 68183. Each applicant must present a non-expired, valid government-issued ID – IMPORTANT. If proof of identity/age is not furnished, the license cannot be issued.
How do I look up a marriage license in Nebraska?
Obtain a copy of a certified Nebraska marriage certificate from the Department of Health and Human Services. The Vital Records Office of the DHHS has a register of all marriages occurring in the state since 1909. Contact the Clerk of the County where the licenses were issued, for certificates prior to this date.
Are divorces public record?
As a legal document, you can’t have a public record erased. However, it’s important to note that as only the final order is classified as a public record, all other information pertaining to the divorce file is kept private and retained only by the court and the legal teams involved.
Can you look up someone to see if they are married?
Anyone can find out if someone is married by searching the public records for the state and county where the marriage certificate is filed. With access to the internet, you can find the county records without paying a fee, unless you request a copy of the marriage license.