How much does it cost to change your last name after divorce in Arkansas?

The Circuit Court Clerk’s Office will require a processing fee of around $140 to $195. An exact amount can be determined by contacting the Clerk’s Office in the county where you live. Payment will be accepted in cash or by check/money order made payable to “[County Name] County Circuit Court Clerk.”

How do I change to my married name after divorce?

By law, you can simply choose to adopt a new name and start using it. However, to update your passport, driving licence, bank accounts and other official records, you will need a deed poll name change or the following original documents: Final order. Original marriage or civil partnership certificate.

How long does it take for name change in Arkansas?

How long will the entire application for change of name take? Name change actions can take anywhere from a day, to six (6) months (sometimes even longer). The time it takes for such action to be ordered/decreed varies not only from county to county, but sometimes from courthouse to courthouse as well.

Can I change my name to something else after divorce?

If you’re divorced and your divorce decree doesn’t allow you to change your name, then the only other way to get your maiden name back would be to petition for a court-ordered name change.

What do I need to change my name on my driver’s license in Arkansas?

To update your name on your driver’s license head to your local DMV and request an update. Be sure to bring your current Arkansas driver’s license, your certified marriage certificate, your passport or birth certificate and $10. Your new license will be issued the same day you apply!

How much does it cost to change your last name after marriage in Arkansas?

How much does it cost? It costs $10 to change a name on a driver’s license or $5 to change a name on an ID card in Arkansas.

Can I just start using my maiden name again?

You can return your married name for your maiden name (or any prior name held). Or exchange it for another new name. You can use your marriage certificate to get back your maiden name on your social security card. You don’t need to get divorced or petition the court.

How do I revert back to my maiden name?

  1. Marriage Certificate.
  2. Birth Certificate.
  3. Decree Absolute.
  4. Signed declaration stating that you are switching back to your Maiden name ‘for all purposes. ‘

Can I keep my ex husband’s last name after divorce?

Or maybe they decide that a divorce should signify a final split, and their ex-wife keeping their surname symbolically prevents the break from happening. However, no matter your reason for wanting the change, there is no legal obligation for your ex to go back to her maiden name.

Where do I go to change my name in Arkansas?

Contact Arkansas Vital Records to request information about changing your name on your birth certificate. You can call Vital Records (800-637-9314), or visit their website for more information. Normally you will need an attorney to make a request for a name change on a birth certificate.

How do I change my name on my birth certificate in Arkansas?

An affidavit for correction will need to be signed by both parents. Please contact the Arkansas Department of Health at 4815 West Markham, Slot 44, Little Rock, AR 72205, either by mail, in person, by phone (501-682-1214), by fax (501-661-2869), or by email ([email protected]).

How old do you have to be to legally change your name in Arkansas?

“(a) All persons of the age of eighteen (18) years shall be considered to have reached the age of majority and be of full age for all purposes.

What needs to be changed after divorce?

  • Social Security card.
  • Driver’s license, car title, and registration.
  • Passports.
  • Property titles.
  • Post Office and PO Box.
  • Checking accounts (including checks and ATM card)
  • Savings accounts, CDs, and money market accounts.
  • Credit cards.

How do I change my name after divorce with Social Security?

To change your name on your card, you must show us documents proving your legal name change and identity. You also must show us a document proving your U.S. citizenship, if it is not already in our records. You must present original documents or copies certified by the agency that issued them.

How do I go back to my maiden name without divorce?

If you separate, you can revert back to using your maiden name (or a completely different name) immediately by using a deed poll. It is a good way of announcing that you are no longer together and that you are an independent person again without waiting for a divorce to complete.

How do I change my name after marriage in Arkansas?

To do this, the individual must visit a local DMV office. The documents to bring to the office are an updated social security card, current driver’s license, proof of name change document (marriage certificate or court order), and proof of identity (e.g., a passport or birth certificate).

What documents are needed to get a drivers license in Arkansas?

  • Social Security Number verification (card) or sign an affidavit that you do not have it.
  • Proof of your identity.
  • Proof of your date of birth.
  • Legal proof of your change of name, if your name differs from that shown on your birth certificate.
  • Proof of your legal presence in the US.

What documents are needed for real ID in Arkansas?

Getting a REAL ID does require some extra paperwork. According to the U.S. Department of Homeland Security, a person must have documents showing their full legal name, date of birth, social security number, two proofs of address and lawful status. “Your passport, birth certificate or visa in the first category.

What do you need to get an Arkansas marriage license?

LEGAL DOCUMENTATION ON NAME AND DATE OF BIRTH Males and females 18 or older must present a valid government issued photo identification showing their correct name and date of birth; such as a driver’s license, passport or military identification.

Where do you get a marriage license in Arkansas?

Arkansas marriage licenses are issued by the local County Clerk’s office, in the county where your wedding will take place.

Is a divorced woman still a Mrs?

**Divorced After a divorce, a woman might keep her married name. If this is the case, then you can either use “Mrs.” or “Ms.” to address the guest and use her first name. If she is using her maiden name, then use “Ms.” along with her first name and maiden name.

Why would a divorced woman keep her married name?

Many women choose to hold onto their married name after a divorce because of their children. Sharing the same last name can make women feel more connected to their children. It can also provide a sense of stability for younger children who will not understand why their mother has a different last name.

Can I keep my maiden name on my driving Licence?

So while you can use your maiden name on a driving license, it’s not the best option if you plan to change your name on other documents. In this sense, you should either leave your maiden name on everything or change your name on everything.

Can I keep my married name after divorce?

When a couple gets divorced, each spouse has the right to keep his or her married name. No spouse can force the other to change back to his or her previous name, and there is little anyone can do to prevent an ex-spouse from continuing to use the married name after divorce.

Can I travel with maiden name on passport?

US Citizens: United States Citizens who change their name due to marriage, divorce, or because of any other circumstance may travel using your United States passport or other Western Hemisphere Travel Initiative approved document in your prior name provided you bring proof of your name progression such as; a marriage …

Do NOT follow this link or you will be banned from the site!