The Law: Section 93 of the Mississippi Code 1972 allows girls as young as 15 years old to be married with parental consent, while prohibiting the marriage of boys under the age of 17. A judge may waive the minimum age requirement altogether under certain conditions.
Where do I file for divorce in Rankin County MS?
Chancery Court / Rankin County, Mississippi.
How do I find court records in Mississippi?
To obtain Mississippi judgment records, visit the clerk’s office where the court issued the judgment. Generally, this court is located in the county where the defendant lives or where the crime happened. Pay a visit to the courthouse during regular business hours and submit a request at the clerk’s office.
What is Brandon Mississippi known for?
At the center of Brandon stands a monument of a Confederate soldier placed there in 1907 by the United Daughters of the Confederacy. The site of the monument is believed to be where General Sherman had his soldiers stack arms while they occupied the town.
What judicial district is Rankin County MS?
The United States District Court for the Southern District of Mississippi has jurisdiction in Rankin County.
What court handles divorce in Mississippi?
Chancery Courts have jurisdiction over disputes in matters involving equity; domestic matters including adoptions, custody disputes and divorces; guardianships; sanity hearings; wills; and challenges to constitutionality of state laws. Land records are filed in Chancery Court.
How do i find divorce records in Mississippi?
A five-year search is available to locate the county where the divorce was granted, the book, and the page number in the Chancery Clerk’s office where it was recorded. The Chancery Clerk’s office will need to be contacted directly in order to obtain a certified copy of the divorce decree.
Does Mississippi have public records?
This chapter shall be known and may be cited as the “Mississippi Public Records Act of 1983.” It is the policy of the Legislature that public records must be available for inspection by any person unless otherwise provided by this act [Laws, 1996, ch. 453].
How do I find someone’s court records?
There are three ways to look at court records: Go to the courthouse and ask to look at paper records. Go to the courthouse and look at electronic court records. If your court offers it, look at electronic records over the internet.
Is Brandon MS a good place to live?
Brandon is in Rankin County and is one of the best places to live in Mississippi. Living in Brandon offers residents a sparse suburban feel and most residents own their homes. Many families and young professionals live in Brandon and residents tend to lean conservative. The public schools in Brandon are highly rated.
Who founded Brandon MS?
Its builder and first owner, John Ohleyer, and his wife, Sophie Rexel, were born in Alsace, France. He became a naturalized citizen in 1854. The story goes that Ohleyer discovered the local rock deposit, hauled rocks into town, shaped each one, and then put them in place, all by himself.
How much does a justice court judge make in Mississippi?
Salary Recap The average pay for a Justice Court Judge is $95,887 a year and $46 an hour in Mississippi, United States. The average salary range for a Justice Court Judge is between $66,162 and $116,982.
Who is the judge for Rankin County?
Judge David Morrow Jr.
Who is the district attorney for Rankin County MS?
District Attorney John K. Bramlett, Jr.
How long does a spouse have to be gone for abandonment?
Spousal abandonment is a desertion without cause that continues for a specific length of time, usually one year.
How long after a divorce can you remarry in Mississippi?
27. Mississippi. There is no period following the entry of a divorce decree during which both parties are prohibited from remarrying, although the decree may provide in the discretion of the court whether or when a party guilty of adultery shall marry again.
Is MS a no-fault divorce state?
Mississippi allows both “no-fault” and “fault-based” divorces. When you file for fault-based divorce, you must show that your spouse’s misconduct caused the failure of the marriage.
Why does Mississippi require a blood test to get married?
Historically, many states have required applicants for a marriage license to obtain a blood test. These tests were for venereal diseases (most commonly syphilis), for genetic disorders (such as sickle-cell anemia), or for rubella.
Can you get married the same day in Mississippi?
You do not have to worry about this anymore. Also, the three (3) day waiting period has been removed so you can apply for a marriage license and get married on the same day. You do not have to be a resident of Mississippi to apply for a marriage license.
Are divorces public record?
As a legal document, you can’t have a public record erased. However, it’s important to note that as only the final order is classified as a public record, all other information pertaining to the divorce file is kept private and retained only by the court and the legal teams involved.
How can I find out if someone is married in Mississippi?
For more information, contact our Vital Records office at 601-206-8200, or visit the Vital Records Department home page for health statistics, vital records, reports and data. You can also contact the Vital Records office by sending e-mail to [email protected].
How do I find marriage records for free?
FamilySearch is a free website with indexes and some images to many Family History Library vital records collections. GenWed is a free genealogical research database for marriage records and a directory to other marriage records online for the United States.
How do I find public records for free?
Visit the official website of the county, state, federal government, or court which is relevant to your background check. Search for public records in the online database of the website and make sure to enter the full name of the person whose records you are looking for in order to get accurate results.
Is Mississippi an open records state?
Anyone can request access to Mississippi’s public records and no state of purpose is required. There are no restrictions placed on the use of records. The Mississippi Public Records Act states that, if not decided upon by the individual department, departments have one working day to respond to PRA requests.
How do I request public records in Mississippi?
Any person(s) wanting to gain access to public records should fill out a request form (available here) and submit it via email, fax, in person to MDHS, or mail to MDHS Public Records Division.