Child support is a fundamental legal obligation from a parent to a child. In Washington, the child support laws presume both parents owe support to their minor children. Although parents can agree to waive child support, the court must approve the agreement, but this rarely occurs.
Who gets the kids in a divorce in Washington State?
Factors the Washington State Court Will Consider The child’s relationship with each parent. The child’s relationship with siblings or other individuals in each parent’s household. Each parent’s ability to care for their child. The physical, emotional, and mental health of each parent.
How long does a divorce with kids take in Washington?
Getting a divorce in Washington state can take anywhere between 3 and 12 months, depending on whether it is contested or uncontested. The average uncontested case takes 3 months. The average contested divorce takes approximately 6-12 months.
Can a mother move a child away from the father Washington State?
The law in Washington “presumes” that in most situations, a parent’s request to relocate will be allowed. This means that the judge will assume that moving with the child is in the child’s best interests. However, the other parent can object to the move and try to convince the judge to not allow the move.
Is WA A 50/50 custody state?
The “Best Interest of the Child” Determines Custody Instead, Washington State courts are required to make child custody determinations based on the best interest of the child. This standard may result in the court ordering a 50/50 parenting plan, but not necessarily.
How is child support calculated in Washington State?
To calculate child support, use the combined net income of both parents (in other words, add your net income to the other parent’s net income) to determine the total amount of child support due.
What is average child support in Washington State?
Washington State uses a child support formula to determine the base monthly child support amount. The factors include the number of children, their ages, and the incomes of the parents. Depending on the variables plugged into the formula, the base child support payment will be anywhere from $200 up to $3,500 per month.
What is the minimum child support in Washington State?
Minimum support may not be less than $50 per child per month except when allowed by RCW 26.19. 065. For income less than $1000 the obligation is based upon the resources and living expenses of each household. Minimum support may not be less than $50 per child per month except when allowed by RCW 26.19.
How much is alimony in Washington?
Most judges award maintenance lasting 20-33% of the length of the marriage, and the monthly amount tapers with time. For example, the judge might award $2,000 for 2 years, and then decrease that amount by $200 every six months until maintenance ends.
What can be used against you in a divorce?
Spending marital money on extramarital affairs. Transferring marital funds to another person before a separation. Spending unreasonable amounts on business expenditures. Selling marital assets below the market value.
Do I have to pay alimony in Washington State?
As a general rule of thumb, courts in Washington State award one year of alimony for every three or four years of marriage. There is no statute or case law explicitly stating this formula, but it is an oft mentioned rule and generally what courts can be expected to do.
Who gets custody in Washington State?
In Washington State, when two unmarried parents have a child, custody defaults to the mother. However, if paternity is established for the father, his rights as a parent will hold equal weight in court.
What does custodial parent mean in Washington State?
In Washington State, one or both parents may be granted either legal or physical custody of a child. Legal custody will determine which parent may make day to day decisions for a child, such as health and medical decisions, as well as educational decisions.
Can a parent take a child out of state without the other parents consent in Washington?
In Washington state, the relocating parent must provide the other parent with written notice that he or she will be moving out of state with the child at least 60 days prior to the move.
Does Washington State have joint custody?
But, before July 1, 2007, the rule in Washington was that shared or joint physical custody didn’t really exist. In reality, Washington State courts have long preferred a sole custody and visitation arrangement, with one parent being the primary custodial parent and the other noncustodial parent having visitation.
What is a wife entitled to in a divorce in Washington State?
You get a decree, a division of all the parties’ property, a parenting plan, a child support order, and potentially spousal maintenance (alimony).
Who gets the house in a divorce in Washington State?
Generally, all property (houses, real estate, cars) a spouse gets during the marriage is community property. It belongs to both spouses, even if only one is on the title. Both spouse’s earnings during the marriage are community property. Washington is a community property state.
Do you have to pay child support if you have joint custody in Washington?
They may assume that since they equally share the parenting, neither would owe any child support to the other. That, however, is generally not the case. Washington child support law works on the assumption that child support is paid to the parent who has the children the majority of the time.
What age does child support end in WA?
Typically, Washington State child support lasts until the child turns 18 years old, or until the child graduates from high school. The child, however, should have graduated before s/he reaches the age of 19 years.
What is the average child support payment?
On the basic rate, if you’re paying for: one child, you’ll pay 12% of your gross weekly income. two children, you’ll pay 16% of your gross weekly income. three or more children, you’ll pay 19% of your gross weekly income.
Is child support mandatory?
Child support is mandatory in divorce. The court can order one or both parents to pay child support, even if the divorcing couple doesn’t request it. The law says, “Both parents are mutually responsible for the support of their children …
How does remarriage affect child support in Washington State?
After a divorce, one or both spouses will inevitably go on to have new relationships, and you may be wondering if remarriage will impact child support payments. In Washington, remarriage in and of itself is not a factor for modifying a child support order.
How does back child support work in Washington State?
After the grace period has ended on a late payment, the DCS will automatically attempt to collect child support arrears through wage garnishment. Wage garnishment is a court-ordered method of debt collection, which takes money directly out of the non-custodial parent’s paychecks.
What happens if you don’t pay child support in Washington State?
A child support order in Washington is a legal obligation. If the non-custodial parent doesn’t pay, he or she can be held in contempt and fined or sent to jail. Also, his or her license may be suspended and any professional license.
Does Washington State favor mothers in custody?
Custody Rights in Washington State When two parents marry in the State of Washington, custody defaults to the mother of the child, although unmarried fathers can have the same parenting rights as married fathers if they establish paternity.