Mediation is generally voluntary, although on occasion a judge will order parties to engage in ADR. Our mediators can facilitate an ADR process in any type of dispute, even if the disagreement involves a case that is not pending at the Office of Administrative Courts.
How much does divorce mediation cost in Colorado?
Typically, the total cost of mediation ranges from about $3,000 to $8,000. If that seems steep, remember that most couples split the bill. Divorce can cost even more when you and your spouse each hire your own lawyers and go to trial to resolve your disputes.
Does Colorado require mediation for divorce?
Mediation is required in almost every county in Colorado prior to attending a final hearing on your divorce. During mediation, divorcing spouses work together with their lawyers to come to a divorce agreement in a peaceable manner with the assistance of a mediator.
How do I prepare for divorce mediation in Colorado?
- Research local divorce mediators to better understand their strategy.
- Analyze the costs of mediation services and determine how these will be covered.
- Make a list of assets, debts, and other marital property.
- Prepare all the relevant financial documents.
How does Colorado divorce mediation work?
In Colorado divorce mediation, the parties discuss what they would like to see happen during their divorce with a neutral third party helping them achieve their desired outcomes. Mediators are often psychologists and attorneys not working “for” either side.
How do I file an uncontested divorce in Colorado?
To start the process of filing for an uncontested divorce in Colorado, you will need to file a divorce petition with your local county district court. If you and your spouse agree to file the paperwork together as co-petitioners, there’s no need to serve your spouse with the divorce papers.
How long after mediation is divorce final in Colorado?
While cases can be settled at any time and the Court only has to wait until the 91st day after the filing of the divorce to approve any final agreement reached, generally speaking, most divorces in Colorado take between six months and a year to finalize.
What preparation is required before mediation?
Prepare a short case summary for service prior to the mediation. Give consideration to a confidential settlement statement for the mediators’ use only. Identify the main documents essential to explain the case. Make a list of the strengths and weaknesses of your case and that of your opponent.
Is Colorado a no fault state when it comes to divorce?
Colorado is a no fault state. This means several things for your divorce case: First, you no longer need to explain to the Court why you are requesting a divorce. In the past, one spouse had to prove that the other party had abandoned the family, committed adultery, or otherwise behaved badly.
Can you date while separated in Colorado?
Can I date while legally separated from my spouse? According to Colorado law, while you are legally separated from your spouse, you are still technically married. You can date other people without violating bigamy laws. Colorado is a no-fault state which does not consider fault in reasons for divorce.
What is divorce mediation?
Mediation is an informal dispute settlement process run by a trained third party, called a mediator. Mediation is intended to bring two parties together to clear up misunderstandings, find out concerns, and reach a resolution. The process is voluntary.
What is arbitration vs mediation?
Arbitrator listens to facts and evidence and renders an award. Mediator helps the parties define and understand the issues and each side’s interests.
Do you need mediation before divorce?
You don’t have to go to mediation, but if you end up having to go to court to sort out your differences, you normally need to prove you’ve been to a mediation information and assessment meeting (MIAM). This is an introductory meeting to explain what mediation is and how it might help you.
What happens in a mediation meeting?
There are distinct phases in a mediation. Firstly, the mediator meets with each party separately to understand their experience of the conflict, their position and interests and what they want to happen next. During these meetings, the mediator will also seek agreement from the parties to a facilitated joint meeting.
What should I expect in mediation?
The mediator will help you both (separately or together) to go through all your issues, think about your options, decide whether they would work well in practice and come to an agreement about what’s best.
How long does a divorce take in Colorado?
Most divorces in Colorado take about 6-9 months to complete, depending upon the issues involved, and especially upon whether they are contested or not. There is no one set of procedures that will apply to every case, since the necessary steps will depend upon the specific issues in your case.
What is the divorce law in Colorado?
Colorado is strictly a “no-fault” divorce state. This means judges won’t consider either spouse’s misconduct or fault (such as adultery or drug abuse) in deciding whether to grant the divorce, how to divide property, or whether to award spousal maintenance (alimony).
What is mediation Colorado?
Mediation is a voluntary, problem-solving process assisted by a neutral third party. The basic premise of mediation is that the parties involved in a dispute are best able to resolve the dispute.
Is Colorado a 50 50 state in a divorce?
Colorado follows the “equitable distribution” rule, which means the court doesn’t automatically split the marital property 50-50, but instead aims to award each spouse their fair share.
How long does it take to get a divorce if both parties agree?
A divorce or dissolution will take at least 6 months to complete, even if your circumstances are straightforward. It might take longer if you need to sort out issues with money, property or children. These things will be dealt with separately to your divorce or dissolution.
How does adultery affect divorce in Colorado?
Because of Colorado’s “no fault” status, adultery no longer has a major effect on divorces. A spouse may use adultery as a source of satisfaction during the filing process, but it generally has little impact on alimony, child custody, or property division.
How long does it take to get a divorce if both parties agree in Colorado?
A statutory 91-day waiting period After you file for divorce and serve papers on the other party, the court must wait 91 days before granting the divorce. This law applies whether the parties agree that the marriage is over or not, and even if there are no unresolved issues.
How long after a divorce can you remarry in Colorado?
Colorado only has a waiting period for divorce, which is 91 days after the filing of a petition for dissolution of marriage. There is no limit on when you can get married after you are officially divorced.
Who gets the house in a divorce in Colorado?
In Colorado, the primary caregiver often gets the house in a divorce. The courts may allow the person with the children to stay in the house because there is a belief that it is in the best interest of the children.
What should you not say during mediation?
- 1 — “It’s all your fault.”
- 2 — “Here is a bunch of new information that changes the value of the case.”
- 3 — “I know we demanded (offered) $x before, but we are going to have to demand more (offer less) now.”