- Division I – Judge Gale B. Robinson.
- Division II – Judge Melissa Blackburn (Presiding)
- Division III – Judge Ana L.
- Division IV – Judge Allegra Walker.
- Division V – Judge Robin K.
- Division VI – Judge Jim Todd.
- Division VII – Judge Marcus Floyd.
- Division VIII – Judge Rachel L.
What is Circuit Court in Tennessee?
CIRCUIT COURTS are courts of general jurisdiction in Tennessee. Circuit judges hear civil and criminal cases and appeals of decisions from City, Juvenile, Municipal and General Sessions courts. The jurisdiction of Circuit Courts often overlaps that of the Chancery Courts.
What does Circuit Court do?
The Circuit Court hears criminal matters triable on indictment, except for certain serious crimes which are tried in either the Central Criminal court or the Special Criminal Court. Most indictable offences are dealt with in the Circuit Court.
What judicial district is Davidson County TN?
The Twentieth Judicial District is one of 32 judicial districts in Tennessee and has jurisdiction in Davidson County. The Twentieth Judicial District has four trial courts in its boundaries: a circuit court, a chancery court, a probate court, and a criminal court.
How do I get a free divorce in Tennessee?
- Both spouses must agree on all parts of the divorce.
- You and your spouse need to agree that you have “irreconcilable differences”
- One or both of you must have lived in Tennessee for the last six months or when the decision to divorce was made.
How much does it cost to file for a divorce in Davidson County Tennessee?
Filing fees for a civil case in Tennessee (called a complaint for divorce) are $184 to $301. The costs change based on whether you have children and if the sheriff serves the papers to your ex.
Does it matter who files for divorce first in Tennessee?
As in other states, Tennessee judges treat a petitioner and a defendant equally fairly. Therefore, officially, it makes no difference which spouse initiates a divorce. Yet, filing for divorce first in TN can bring several benefits that we will discuss below.
What does chancery mean in court?
Definition of chancery 1 : a record office for public archives or those of ecclesiastical, legal, or diplomatic proceedings. 2a capitalized : a high court of equity in England and Wales with common-law functions and jurisdiction over causes in equity. b : a court of equity in the American judicial system.
What does the circuit court clerk do?
The circuit clerk is not an official of local government but a state constitutional officer. The primary duty of the circuit clerk is to assist the Circuit Court judge in the execu- tion of their judicial duties by preparing and maintaining court records, collecting fees and fines, and processing paperwork.
What is the highest ranking court within Tennessee?
The Tennessee Supreme Court is the state’s court of last resort. The five Supreme Court justices may accept appeals of civil and criminal cases from lower state courts. They also interpret the laws and constitutions of Tennessee and the United States.
What is Circuit Court limit?
The civil jurisdiction of the Circuit Court is a limited one unless all parties to an action consent, in which event the jurisdiction is unlimited. The limit of the court’s jurisdiction relates mainly to actions where the claim does not exceed €75,000 and the market value does not exceed €3,000,000.
How long does it take for a case to go to court?
It may take several months, and sometimes longer, before the case comes to trial. Once it is listed, the Garda in the case will tell you where and when you must come to give evidence.
Why is it called a circuit court?
Each case in circuit court has a panel of three judges assigned. Circuit court judges rotate rotate through each of these regions in the “circuit”, hence the reason they are called the Circuit Courts.
What are the names of the judges?
The Book of Judges mentions twelve leaders who are said to “judge” Israel: Othniel, Ehud, Shamgar, Deborah, Gideon, Tola, Jair, Jephthah, Ibzan, Elon, Abdon, and Samson.
Do you have to be a lawyer to be a judge in TN?
Each judge shall not be less than thirty (30) years of age and shall have been a citizen and resident of the state for at least five (5) years prior to appointment or election under this chapter. The judges shall be duly licensed to practice law in this state. [Acts 1967, ch. 226, § 2; 1969, ch.
How are judges picked in Tennessee?
The justices are appointed by the governor and then elected every eight years on a ―yes-no‖ retention vote. They represent each of the state’s grand divisions – West, Middle and East Tennessee. By constitutional mandate, the court normally meets in Nashville, Jackson and Memphis.
What judicial district is Nashville TN?
Sixth Circuit Court of the 20th Judicial District, Nashville-Davidson County Tennessee.
What is wife entitled to in divorce in Tennessee?
Tennessee divorce law is very clear – equitable distribution of marital property does not mean equal distribution. Equal division describes awarding 50% to each spouse, also described as a 50/50 split. But it is not unusual for divisions (settlements and trial results) to be close to a 50/50 split.
How can I Get a quick divorce in TN?
In Tennessee, uncontested divorce (known as a simplified or agreed divorce) is the most efficient and cost-effective option, often taking 60-90 days. You and your spouse must agree on all aspects of the divorce and not require the assistance of a judge in a court of law.
Can you Get a divorce in Tennessee without a lawyer?
In limited circumstances, it is possible to get an “agreed divorce” in Tennessee without hiring an attorney. The Tennessee Supreme Court has approved divorce forms that, if properly completed, must be accepted by all Tennessee courts that hear divorce cases.
Who pays for a divorce?
There appears to be a myth that the person being divorced (known as the Respondent) always pays the fees for a divorce, when in reality this is not the case in the majority of divorce cases. The person filing for the divorce (known as the Applicant) will always pay the divorce filing fee.
What is the waiting period for divorce in Tennessee?
Tennessee law requires a mandatory waiting period, beginning when the complaint for divorce is filed, before a divorce can be granted for any reason. In cases where the parties have no children, the waiting period is sixty (60) days, and in cases with children the waiting period is ninety (90) days.
Is TN A 50/50 State for divorce?
The State of Tennessee is not a 50 50 (fifty-fifty) state for division of marital property in divorce. Tennessee is an equitable distribution state for property division in divorce but courts are required to consider a list of factors in determining which spouse receives what assets.
How long do you have to be married to get alimony in TN?
How many years do you have to be married to get alimony in Tennessee? There is no minimum length of time for the marriage for alimony to be awarded. Even for a very short marriage, there could easily be awarded if one spouse is unemployed and needs assistance. Contrast that with a long-term marriage.
Who gets the house in a divorce in Tennessee?
Tennessee law considers each spouse’s separate property in determining property division. If one spouse has substantially more separate property, the other spouse is likely to be awarded a greater division of marital property.